Students from the University of Exeter’s Faculty of Health and Life Sciences have awarded their tutors with prizes for outstanding academic excellence and pastoral support.

The staff prizes celebrate Exeter staff, and also NHS teams for innovative teaching and learning practices for students while on placement. The categories include ‘Most Inspirational Teacher’, ‘Supporting Hand’, ‘Best Placement Hospital team’ and ‘Educational Inspirer’.

The ‘Neuroscience Most Inspirational Teacher Award’ was presented to Dr Miguel DaSilva for his enthusiasm towards teaching, which has had a positive effect on students. Neuroscience student Borja Morrow Leguina, who presented Dr Dasilva, with his award said: “His dedication to making the course as interesting and enjoyable as possible made it a real privilege to be taught by him.”

Medical student Francesca Perry-Poletti hailed Professor Vikram Devaraj who picked up the ‘Educational Inspirer BMBS Prize’. She said: “Professor Devaraj has provided unwavering support to Exeter Surgical Society for many years. He’s supported conferences, given engaging lectures and workshops to medical students. He’s also offered his expertise to the society, all in his spare time. We’re very grateful for all that he’s done and he’s deserving of this award.”

Francesca Perry-Poletti also spoke highly of Dr Sarah Ashley who picked up the ‘Most Inspirational Teacher in Clinical BMBS’ Prize for her excellent delivery of medical humanities modules. “Dr Ashley is such an enthusiastic and innovative tutor. She was indeed the most engaging COP facilitator we had this year, and you can tell she’s put a lot of thought into each of her class sessions with the aim of creating a welcoming educational atmosphere.”

The ‘Neuroscience Supporting Hand’ prize was presented to Dr Talitha Kerrigan for her “great passion in improving the course.” Neuroscience student Lara Peyer said: “Her interactions are always positive, and her door is always open for queries and concerns. She’s been vital in keeping the course running.”

Dr Libby Bowman was awarded the ‘Most Inspirational Teacher in Pre Clinical BMBS’ and lauded by several students for being approachable, positive, and consistently going above and beyond. Elsewhere, Jenny Harris picked up the ‘Medical Sciences Supporting Hand’ prize for always taking the time to be of help to her students.

Professor Sallie Lamb, Pro-Vice-Chancellor of the University of Exeter Faculty of Health and Life Sciences said: “We have such an abundant talent of academic staff and NHS collaborators here at the University of Exeter, and it’s so pleasing to see them recognised by their students. It’s one of the things that make these recognitions special, and I want to congratulate all our staff for continuing to provide world-class educational standards that leave a lasting impression on our students and their wider community.”

Full list of the winners:

Most Inspirational Teacher Pre Clinical BMBSDr Libby Bowman
Most Inspirational Teacher Clinical BMBSDr Sarah Ashley
Supporting Hand – Pre Clinical BMBSConnor Williams
Educational Inspirer BMBSProfessor Vikram Devaraj
Excellence and innovation in Clinical Teaching Team award for Gp Practices – ExeterDr Amy Parkinson – Brannam Medical Centre
Susan Wheaton – Practice Manager
Excellence and innovation in Clinical Teaching Team award for Gp Practices – TruroDr Jonathan Lock – Marazion Surgery
Juliette Benstead – Practice Manager
Excellence and innovation in Clinical Teaching Team award for Hospital teams – Exeter RD&EMr David Cunliffe – Torbay Hospital Maxillofacial Surgery Department
Excellence and innovation in Clinical Teaching Team award for Hospital teams – Truro RCHTDr Matthew Thorpe, Dr Simon Bedwani – Paediatrics & Neonates
Medical Sciences Inspirational TeacherMaarten Koeners
Medical Sciences Supporting HandJenny Harris
Medical Sciences Educational InspirerDr Maisha Reza
SEMS Supporting HandDr Daniela Souto Patinha
SEMS Educational InspirerDr Joao Correa Delgado
Neuroscience Most Inspirational TeacherMiguel DaSilva
Neuroscience Supporting HandTalitha Kerrigan
Neuroscience Educational InspirerCraig Beall
Nursing Supporting handVictoria Sadler
Nursing Educational InspirerAnca Ichim
MI Inspirational TeacherNOT AWARDED
MI Supporting HandNOT AWARDED
MI Educational InspirerNOT AWARDED
MI Best placement Hospital teamJeanette Owen, Louise Hancock – Derriford Hospital